Avenue’s opponents for next season’s Vanarama National League North campaign have been confirmed, with no surprises in the 22 sides.

For the second season in a row, the National League North welcomes three teams from the league above, with Kidderminster Harriers, Altrincham and local rivals FC Halifax Town joining from the National League.

However this term, just two sides have joined from step three, with champions 1883 Darlington and play-off winner Salford City, who defeated Avenue in the FA Cup last season, joining from the Northern Premier League.

The final spot to be confirmed came down to the National League North play-off final, as second played third, North Ferriby defeating AFC Fylde at home to secure a deserved promotion to non-league’s top flight.

After Hungerford Town defeated Leamington in the Southern Premier League play-off final, there was no decision to be made which side would move south, with Gloucester City and Brackley Town potentials for the switch.

Following their own campaigns to switch south this time last year, Lowestoft Town were relegated on the last day of the season and have been placed in the Isthmian League in step three.

Solihull Moors won the league at a canter last season and will join Ferriby in the National League, while Corby Town and Hednesford Town were relegated long before Lowestoft.

Tamworth have this summer become the first National League North side to take the step to install a 3G pitch at their stadium.

As well as AFC Fylde’s brand new Mill Farm stadium, which is still under construction, Avenue will visit another new ground this season as Worcester City move away from Kidderminster’s Aggborough, to play at the Victoria Ground, home of Bromsgrove Sporting.

Elsewhere, Bradford-based Campion AFC have become the latest West Yorkshire side to be brought into the semi-professional game, joining Eccleshill United and co. in the North Counties Eastern League Division One North.

Full list of sides competing in next season’s National League North:

AFC Fylde
AFC Telford United
Alfreton Town
Boston United
Brackley Town
Bradford Park Avenue
Curzon Ashton
FC Halifax Town
FC United of Manchester
Gainsborough Trinity
Gloucester City
Harrogate Town
Kidderminster Harriers
Nuneaton Town
Salford City
Stalybridge Celtic
Stockport County
Worcester City

Comments are closed.